A shadow of my current self

I came across a couple of pictures of me from 2001:
Note the ugly white cap, checkered shirt, and hoodie over a polo shirt. God, I really was your stereotypical fratboy-type (at a school with no Greek system, no less). But also note the 40 fewer pounds on me.

These photos are my motivation to work out every day. I have been working out every day (except Memorial Day, when the gym closed at 8pm and I was too busy sleeping all day to go), but I don’t think it’s going to be enough. I have decided to make a very drastic move to help me lose weight: I am cutting beer out of my diet.

This may come as a shock to many of my friends, as I consider myself a beer connoisseur. Or a lush. Either one. I promise, this will only be temporary, to give me that extra push. When I go to a certain favorite bar of mine and ask for a water, my friendly neighborhood bartender says “we don’t serve that here” and gives me a beer. So maybe it’s time for me to re-think my priorities.

So long, beer. It’s been a blast. See you real soon, I hope.

4 Comments

Filed under Life Before Blogging

4 responses to “A shadow of my current self

  1. Wow, let me tell you I could NEVER do that. And as for Jim … a friend of mine who comes in fairly regularly gave up beer three weeks ago. It took Jim two weeks to stop trying to get him to give in … just give it some time :)

  2. Oh, I will give it time. I just can’t wait to see the look on his face next time I’m in there and he reaches for the Harpoon tap!

  3. I’m sure he’ll give you the benefit of the doubt when you order an appletini.

  4. The Joy

    You’re dumb for giving up beer. Why not try giving up food instead?

Leave a Reply

