The Guilt was Too Much for The Fan to Handle

I was never a Wal-Mart shopper. I grew up in a place that was a “late adopter” to the whole Wal-Mart trend. They didn’t open one within five miles of the house where I grew up until about four years ago.

Last summer, when I was in Vermont, I went to a Wal-Mart there (perhaps even more rare than a Wal-Mart in the New York metro area) and bought a fan. I needed to keep cool somehow. For less than ten bucks, I found a pretty powerful fan that successfully sucked the cool mountain air into my room. It’s done a good job cooling me off this summer so far here in New York, too. This fan is the only thing I own from Wal-Mart.

Every time I used that fan, all I could think about was how I bought it at Wal-Mart. I’m not one of those die-hard anti-Wal-Mart folks, but a lot of my friends are. They shamed me into thinking that, as someone who could probably afford to support struggling small businesses, I was going to Wal-Mart to buy my small appliances.

This morning, I went into the bathroom to brush my teeth, and suddenly heard a loud snap from my bedroom. Then, I heard a very loud clicking noise. I went back into my bedroom, and smelled smoke. My fan unexpectedly and inexplicably broke and the blades were rubbing against the base of the fan. Frustrated and already sweaty, I smashed the fan against the floor and threw it in the trash, in a possibly outbreak of Intermittent Explosive Disorder. Right.

So no more Wal-Mart fan. And as pennance, I will buy a new fan at Surprise!Surprise!

1 Comment

Filed under Odds and Ends

One response to “The Guilt was Too Much for The Fan to Handle

  1. Joy

    Bless you, my son, for your change of heart.

Leave a Reply

