The Great Sonic Quest

I’ve been trying to make some sort of summer plans. Lacking vacation days and vacation funds, it’s hard to plot out a serious trip. Even going to the beach seems like a hassle, since the weather here hasn’t been cooperating.

But I have at least one solid goal in place for this summer. Dates haven’t been set. Transportation has not been coordinated. But one thing is certain: I will go to the nearest Sonic Drive-In to New York City this summer.

Being a native New Englander, I have never had a Sonic experience. Some of you Midwesterners and Southerners may take it for granted, but I don’t know what kind of reputation they have. I don’t know proper Sonic ordering etiquette. I don’t even know much about what they serve.

But thanks to their clever unscripted national advertising, I have a desparate craving for the drive-in phoenomenon that is Sonic. I feel that having never been to a Sonic, my life is incomplete.

So, sometime this summer, given the proper timing and coordination of transportation, I will go to the nearest Sonic to New York City. The nearest location is 146 miles away, in Ephrata, PA, in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. So, you know, I can pick up a burger and a Hex Sign.

According to Google Maps, it’s a 3-hour drive. I will undoubtedly spend more on gas than I will on the food itself. Unless I really go overboard.

The sweet reward? Fast Food Bliss. And thus begins… The Great Sonic Quest.

14 Comments

Filed under Food and Booze

14 responses to “The Great Sonic Quest

  1. Dude, you are in for an amazing experience. In my opinion, it’s all about the tater tots and the cherry limeade.

    PS–dig the blog.

  2. The PA Dutch might offer superior food, if you dig greasy.

    I second that; I totally 2 this blog. (2 is

  3. Anonymous

    I never figured out why they inundate NYers with those amazing commercials, make us crazy for Sonic, and then don’t have any locations remotely close to the city… seems cruel, right?

  4. Anonymous

    Coming from the birthplace of Sonic, the commercials here are fucking torture. I hope you enjoy it, it’s one of those things I absolutely must have when I go home. And definitely, get a cherry limeade, large.

  5. You must visit The Sonic. You must worship at it’s slushy-icy goodness. Then you must dream sonic dreams.

    http://rachelruminations.blogspot.com/2006/02/sonic-rocks.html

    Seriously though, there’s nothing like it.
    We need one closer to NYC.

  6. They do the same thing out here! Sonic would advertise all over the Bay Area but there ain’t no Sonic’s anywhere.

    But it’s worth the drive, as I too have driven many miles and out of my way for a Texas Toast Cheeseburger.

  7. The Dew is right on-cherry limeade and tots for sure.

    You think they’d give us a stand-alone Sonic…we did finally get the 7-Eleven, after all.

  8. Karen ;- )

    You should follow the Great Sonic Quest with the Great Waffle House Adventure…That means I’ll see you soon.

  9. I am absolutely positive that there is a Sonic on Long Island. Then again, I *could* be wrong — even though I live there — as I’ve never been to a Sonic before.

  10. Those commercials make me feel that 146 miles is a perfectly reasonable drive. I would also greatly approve of a Waffle House Adventure.

  11. Anonymous

    I spent 18 years getting out of Lancaster County. Save your gas money.

  12. Anonymous

    Mmmmmmmm the breakfast bistro.

  13. First of all, just say no to the Waffle House. No good can come of a trip there.

    #2- cherry limeade, tater tots. Definitely. And for dessert, a vanilla coke float!

    I’m from Texas. And I love me some Sonic!

  14. Anonymous

    I cannot fathom not stopping at Sonic at least a couple of times a week. There are 5 just within a 3 mile radius of my house. If you can, the Cheddar Burger Toaster meal with tots & Jumbo (Route 44) Cherry Limeade are the closest you will ever get to heaven on Earth.

    Waffle House, not so much. It’s OK if you were just released from a POW camp, but other than that it’s not worth the hours you’ll spend in the bathroom afterwards.

Leave a Reply

