Yeah, I’m a Blogger. So What?

In the past few weeks, my blog has started to encompass my social life. Friends talk about my blog. They IM me to tell me that I’m linked on Gawker. They call me to tell me about something they read on my blog. They point out typographical errors on my blog within minutes of my posting.

This blog isn’t my day job. This blog is just a creative outlet. I do a lot of math in my day job. When I write for a living, I’m usually writing in bullet points. When I’m introduced by a friend who says, “this is Chris! He has a blog,” it sounds like I’m an unemployed freelance writer. No offense to those who are (get a job, you bums! No, I’m kidding. Really). In fact, I’m probably stealing some of your thunder by being a blogger with a day job. And I’m sorry for that. Kind of.

I don’t mind being known for my blog, and I’m not about to get a big head over this newfound popularity. (Please! I’m WAY above that!) But I do want to address some of the more amusing reactions I get from friends about my blog:

“Why don’t you ever mention me in your blog?”

Hello? My blog is completely self-centered. You should have figured that out by now. But just because I don’t mention you doesn’t mean I don’t love you. I don’t write about my friends because I don’t want to embarass or alienate them. My roommate, however, has refused to read my blog again until I mention him. I don’t want to lose a reader, so I figured I’d throw that out there as my one exception.

“I want to write a blog!”

So you want to create a blog, eh? Don’t steal my thunder, you son of a bitch! Unless you get more popular than me and link to my blog. Then I’ll forgive you. Actually, there are plenty of my friends who I think would have much funnier blogs than mine. Which brings me to my final comment.

“Why can’t you be as funny in person as you are on your blog?”

You know what? You’re right. I really should try to address this.

I’ll stop making my blog so goddamn funny.

2 Comments

Filed under Life in NYC

2 responses to “Yeah, I’m a Blogger. So What?

  1. I think it’s easier for a blog to be funny than it is for a person to be funny. My comments come out exactly the way I want them to online, whereas I can’t tell a joke to save my life in person. My friends know that for the most part I’m not the crumudgeon bastard I come off as online. Plus my LiveJournal isn’t that funny to begin with.

    But hey, by linking it here, I may have found a handful more of people who don’t think I’m funny.

    Oh yeah, I like the switch to your own domain, too. It’s cool.

  2. Karen ;- )

    Oh, Chris. You are TOO funny in person! Funny looking and smelling. *rim shot* thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

