Tales from the Open Road: It’s Sonic Good

At long last, I have had Sonic. And it is good. I took some of your suggestions.

My first Sonic experience was Thursday night in Overland Park, Kansas. I had a Sonic burger, fries, and a cherry limeade. And to commemorate the event, my friend Beej and I recreated the commercials that tortured me for years in photographic form:

Being in a car for over 24 hours during the weekend, our conversations at Sonic often became potential Sonic commercial fodder.

Me: Did you know there are over 168,000 different drink combinations at Sonic?
Beej: Yep. That’s a lot.
Me (Opens calculator on cell phone): You could have 3 meals a day at Sonic every day for over 153 years, and not have the same drink twice.
Beej: Not that you’d ever live 153 years if you had Sonic 3 times a day.

Okay, yeah, Sonic might not go for that one.

Me: Ahh, the Sonic Breakfast Burrito. It’s like the best way to start the day.
Beej: Except for, maybe, a morning blowjob.
Me: Unless she bites.
Beej: Ouch.
Me: Maybe I’ll just go with the burrito. And the tater tots.

A no-go on that one too? Yeah, I don’t think it would play too well out in the nation’s heartland.

Anyway, I’d like to thank the Sonic in Overland Park for helping me pop my Sonic cherry [limeade]. And the one on US-54 in Wichita. And the one in Pratt, Kansas. And Lamar, Colorado. And Pueblo, Colorado. And Colby, Kansas. And Russell, Kansas. And Platte City, Missouri.

Okay, maybe I went a little overboard and took all of your suggestions. But now I’ve had my fix of Sonic for a good year or so, or whenever I’m in Sonic territory next.

6 Comments

Filed under Food and Booze, On the Road

6 responses to “Tales from the Open Road: It’s Sonic Good

  1. Meaghan

    OK, so as a sonic virgin myself, I’m totally planning on stopping at the first sonic I see on my Trip Across America (TM). As I will be otherwise eating dry cereal and ramen for the rest of the trip, I need to get all my kicks in @ Sonic in one trip – not 7 trips, or however many you ended up having. What’s the best stuff to get? I need the cream of the crop. Make it happen, Clarke!

  2. Are you sure that Sonic is on your diet?

  3. I’m sure that Sonic is not on my diet.

    And I’m sure that I’ll be at the gym every single day for the next two weeks making up for it.

  4. Karen ;- )

    I can actually hear the fat congealing in your veins, your heart screaming “BLOOD!!!!”

  5. Lauren

    i am so incredibly jealous.

  6. Brandi

    What Sonic item was your favorite??

Leave a Reply

