I’m Not Bringin’ Anything Back, Thanks

I’m cutting this one off at the pass. A song hit the airwaves less than a month ago, and its hook is quickly becoming a part of our vocabulary. This practice must end immediately, before it’s too late.

At first, I thought the phrase was just being used tounge-in-cheek, when I saw it used on a blog. Then, days later, I heard a Jewish girl from Murray Hill use it in an almost serious manner at the second shittiest bar in town. I heard it again last night at another bar. Then, this morning, I heard it twice: on Z100 (and not in the context of introducing the song), and then in the office, where it sounded completely out of place.

This phrase is: I’m Bringin’ SexyBack.

As in, “oh, girls, watch out, ’cause tonight I’m bringin’ SexyBack!” Or, “damn! Check her out! She’s bringin’ SexyBack!” Or, “I’m going to Cancun for spring break and I’m bringin’ SexyBack.” Or, “do you mind crashing at your girlfriend’s place tonight? I’m about the leave this club and I’m bringin’ SexyBack.” Or, “I am confused by the awkward capitalization in the expression ‘I’m bringin’ SexyBack’.” Or, “If I hear someone say ‘I’m bringin’ SexyBack’ one more time, I cannot be held accountable for my potentially homicidal actions.”

The song is a repetitive piece of crap. It does not deserve to have an overused phrase attributed to it. I actually used to be able to tolerate Justin Timberlake, but “SexyBack” sent me over the edge. I woke up to it one morning last week, and I nearly sent my fist through my alarm clock (I actually did break an alarm clock after waking up to “My Immortal” by Evanescence twice in three days in 2004).

So, please refrain from using this expression, before we shame ourselves by adding senseless lyrics from craptacular music to our vernacular.

7 Comments

Filed under General stupidity

7 responses to “I’m Not Bringin’ Anything Back, Thanks

  1. I’m bringing sexy back is our new mantra in my crew of friends. My one friend started it, now everyone is fucking saying it.

  2. Karen ;- )

    Don’t knock it. It’s a hot, hot video. Admit it.

  3. I think Chris has a SexyBack and is just worried that women and gay men everywhere are going to grab him in inappropriate ways.

    (Hi, Chris’s Mom)

  4. rebecca

    wow, i am glad to be blissfully ignorant of what crazy songs are on the radio.

  5. Snark

    I was unaware that sexy ever left.

  6. I’ve never used it before and now you can be sure I never will JUST FOR YOU!!!

    (I do say “that’s hot” but rarely anymore)

Leave a Reply

