It’s Football Time

The biggest football game of the season is this weekend.

Michigan-Ohio

Fuck that game. As much as other people may disagree.

The big game isn’t one you’ll be hearing about on ESPN, WFAN, or Deadspin. This big game is between two teams with players who play for love of the game, and definitely not for fame, fortune, respect, a home in a warm climate, or a lot of rushing yards.

Als-Lions

What the hell are those helmets? They’re Canadian Football League helmets, you silly American! And my team, the Montreal Alouettes, happens to wear the helmet on the left. And this is the matchup for this Sunday’s game of all games: The Grey Cup – the Super Bowl of Canadian Football.

I know, I know. You’re holding your sides with laughter. But I’ll be the one laughing when you’re stuck on your couch Sunday afternoon, dozing off to an oh-so-thrilling “battle” between the Arizona Cardinals and the Detroit Lions, while I’m treated to a real football game.

8 Comments

Filed under Sports

8 responses to “It’s Football Time

  1. For about 5 seconds, I actually thought you meant the Harvard-Yale game.

    I’ll go hide in my corner of insufferability now.

  2. Grey Cup season already?!??!?!

    GO uh… Yukon Territory!

    Does Baltimore still have a team? :-P

    In all seriousness… who is predicted to win?

  3. In all seriousness, who really cares?

  4. Rob

    I’m thinking about organizing an intervention for this horrible addiction/disease you have. This has gone on long enough. If Flutie can kick it so can you buddy.

  5. I’m saddened and ashamed by your post. It made me laugh and cry at the same time. If you want to take part in the best game ever, go to Blondies on the upper east side where they will be showing the OSU/Micigan game to an unruly crowd of OSU fans.

  6. CanadianFan

    Well,
    Being from Canada, I do follow our football. Being from Ottawa where we tried and failed twice to support a CFL team, I have to say that I’m also a big CFL fan. BC will unfortunately take this contest, but your team does deserve a lot of credit for getting this far.
    Good luck Montreal, you’ll need it.

    M

Leave a Reply

