A Post-Holiday Carol

White Workday
(sung to the tune of “White Christmas”)

blossom.jpgI’m dreaming of a white workday
just like the ones I used to know,
where the pavement glistens
and workers listen
to hear our office closed by snow.

I’m dreaming of a white workday
with every spreadsheet that I fill.
May your days, may your days, may your days have a negative windchill,
because from now on, New York’s never will.

I’m dreaming of a white workday
with every memo that I write.
Tell me why, tell me why, tell me why Al Gore was riiiight
that my winter workdays won’t be white?

7 Comments

Filed under Life in NYC

7 responses to “A Post-Holiday Carol

  1. Yosef brosef – not Global Warming, it’s El Nino.

  2. I know, I know, but a jab at Al Gore was just too good to pass up.

  3. Aw, poor Al, he only invented the Internet, you know.

  4. Dammit, Chris, I *knew* you should have come to Hilarie’s caroling party!!

  5. …and why do we think El Nino is acting up??

    It’s allll global warming. Sad.

  6. Liz

    Actually, it’s both. The Northeast’s heat, the Northwest’s blizzards/increased rain, the fact that the past hurricane season was mild (think of the whoppers that had hit over the previous few years) are all due, according to the US National Weather Service and a whole host of others, to the effects of El Nino – as they are magnified and/or otherwise affected by the on-going global warming trend.

    That fun fact, in the guise of one hell of a run-on sentence, was brought to you by one indignant brand-new New Englander. Where’s the snow???

  7. Pingback: Global Warming « The Sushi Files

Leave a Reply

