That’s One Hell of an “Inconvenience”

To: All Staff
From: Office Services
Sent: 02/06/2007 03:17PM
Subject: Heating is being repaired

If it feels to you that the temperature in the building is dropping it’s only because, well, it is.

Radiators have had to be shut off for a while this afternoon because of some freezing problems in the pipes.

I’ve been told they will be running again within the next forty-five minutes.

Sorry about the inconvenience.

It’s so cold that I’m losing feeling in my fingers right now. That’s a bit more than an inconvenience.

Update, 3:42pm: I just poured myself a hot cup of coffee to warm my hands. It’s not helping.

Update, 3:45pm: I just spilled some of the coffee on my hands accidentally. It felt good.

Update, 3:57pm: The thermometer keychain that a magazine gave to me can come in handy after all. It is currently 54°F at my desk.

Update, 4:05pm: Workplace dilemma: should I put on my coat? It may suggest to my superiors that I’m trying to sneak out of work early. Although, to be honest, that doesn’t sound like such a bad idea right now.

Update, 4:17pm: We’re down to 51°F now. It has been an hour, and we still have no heat.

Update, 4:26pm: At what temperature will our computers stop working? I hope we hit that temperature soon.

Update, 4:55pm: Still no heat. Apparently, that was “forty-five minutes” in metric time.

Update, 5:21pm: So cold. Just as I was ready to go home to escape this frozen hell at 5, my boss came back from a two-hour meeting and told me to “stick around.”

Update, 6:27pm: Our building shuts off the heat at 6:00. So even if the heat is working now, how would I know? I just want to go home and have a drink. A warm drink, preferably. I would be dreading going outside, but I imagine being here this afternoon has me acclimated to the cold.

9 Comments

Filed under Life at Work

9 responses to “That’s One Hell of an “Inconvenience”

  1. That used to happen in my old tenement building. It’d get so cold the radiator pipes would freeze. *sigh*

  2. I think that warrants leaving early. Who can work when they’re freezing?

  3. kwanito

    Computers run smoothly at cooler temps. And I’d think your superiors would understand the situation, unless they have so much money it lines their jackets to provide that extra warmth.

    But it’s 5, so you should be halfway to the bar to warm up.

  4. Yes, but do you have working plumbing? Because in our office, our pipes are frozen and we don’t. I had to go to the Starbucks to take a piss.

  5. Oh come on… I thought the sub-arctic temps were part of the charm of NYC? Or was that the crime? Or the cost of living? I can’t keep it all straight.

  6. Karen (wink omitted)

    We’ve had to shut down our lobby due to the weather. Just send us home.

  7. I feel your pain. I sit at my desk with a giant shawl on. And my chair rocks. So I spend most of the day trying to stay warm and not look like a grandmother.

  8. From the bottom of my heart: Thanx a mill for the post!!!
    Made me laugh out loud, on a day when that was especially needed…
    That said, I can’t help but feel sympathetic to your tiny, afternoon+ disaster. Guess it comes to me naturaly, ’cause of living in Belgium ;)

  9. I read this a few days ago and laughed and felt bad for you, and then it happened in my apartment building. Broken boiler—no heat since Thursday night. I’m not laughing now!

Leave a Reply

