A Question I Ask Myself Every Sunday

My weekly Sunday night television routine:
8:00pm: Watch The Simpsons*.
8:30pm: Channel surf for 30 minutes.
9:00pm: Watch Family Guy.

kingofthehill.jpg

So, I pose this question (and pardon my ignorance for not being from a “flyover state”): who the hell still watches this show? And when it wasn’t on for half of this season, did anyone really notice?

* The Simpsons has not been particularly funny for almost a decade, but at least at one point in each episode, it still makes me laugh. King of the Hill has never elicited even a chuckle out of me in its entire 210(!) episode run.

10 Comments

Filed under Television

10 responses to “A Question I Ask Myself Every Sunday

  1. Matt

    Texans.
    Easy answers to simple questions.

  2. Matt: Ha. That was the obvious answer. But if that’s the case, air it in first-run syndication on stations in Texas, and put something else in that timeslot that people in the 49 other states might actually watch.

  3. Kansas loves it too.

    Needless to say… Simpsons and Family Guy I tune in for. King of the Hill and American Dad… pathetic wastes of the airwaves.

  4. Marjorie

    Bring back Arrested Development!!!! Just stating the obvious.

  5. One of the funniest cartoons ever was “Kevin Spencer” but Bobby Hill’s one of the funniest characters ever put on TV… “My dad says butane’s a bastard gas.”

    The episode where Bobby goes to defence class is a classic: “That’s my purse! I don’t know you!” then he kicks Hank in the sack.

    JOSEPH: My dad says that whenever you’re in a jail-type situation, the best way to survive is to take out the biggest guy there. That way you establish who’s boss right from the get-go. Or you can hang yourself with your pants. He says that’s another way to go.

    CLARK: What are you gonna do? Are you gonna kick me in the nads?
    BOBBY: Am I gonna do it? Yes. When am I gonna do it? Don’t know. Could be tomorrow — now! [kick!] One thing you’ll find out about me, Clark, is that I’m not a very patient person.

  6. Matt

    I agree that The Simpsons hasn’t been funny for a while. I wouldn’t say a decade, but they’ve definitely past their prime.

    Still, compare that to KOTH being funny for, oh, give or take, 8-10 minutes in all its years on the air.

  7. So the general consensus here is the guy who made “Beavis And Butthead” went on to become a Red State Conservative who made drivel for about six years? Maybe it wasn’t mant to be a documentary… ?

    “It looks as though Mike Judge, the satiric mastermind behind Beavis and Butthead, King of the Hill and Office Space, just got punked again. By his own studio. For the third time.”
    http://arts.guardian.co.uk/filmandmusic/story/0,,1866608,00.html

  8. And what’s with that fucking “American Dad” show after Family Guy? Lame.

  9. Joy

    King of the Hill might as well be about my hometown. A hometown, I might add, where most kids weren’t permitted to watch Simpsons. Unfortunately, this is most of “middle” America. Like living under a rock. A culturally deprived, morally upright, family-Church-night-on Wednesdays, tractor-pull-on-Sundays rock.

  10. I thought this was canceled. Being from Colorado, I’ve laughed at it; some parts of Colorado are a lot like northern Texas, and I’ve had many neighbors and classmates just like the people on that show. Though I can’t remember what I laughed at, nor can I remember a single plot from any show…

Leave a Reply

