amNY Watch: Remedial Crossword

I’ve done a lot of crossword puzzles over the years. Yesterday, I was a little bored and decided to take a stab at the am New York crossword puzzle. I finished it in 25 minutes, even with some distractions. How could that be? Well, let’s take a look at some of the clues:

amnycrap38a.jpg

Hmm… this is a tough one. Is the average am New York reader not familiar with Mexican food? I think I’ll have to skip this one for now.

amnycrap38b.jpg

Wow. This one really separates the men from the boys. Could it be a… M-A-S-K? H-O-O-D? Wait, no, I’ve got it… A-H-A-T! Yeah, that’s the ticket!

amnycrap38c.jpg

When I walk into a pigpen, I make a sound: E-W-W-W. Clearly, that’s the answer.

amnycrap38d.jpg

I’m just stumped on this one. This is one tough puzzle!

amnycrap38e.jpg

I’m going to give you the answer to this one: L-A-I-N-E. Am I a genius? No, I only figured it out by filling out all the other clues around it.

Let’s think about this for a second. Frankie Laine. Ever heard of him? No, neither had I, until I looked it up. Apparently, he had his last #1 Billboard hit in 1950.

am New York‘s target audience is “young professionals.” For a guy who released his last single before 90% of am New York‘s audience was even born, that’s a really relevant clue to put in a crossword puzzle. Idiots.

Apparently, this crossword puzzle was actually created for elderly high-school dropouts, and somehow, it found its way to am New York.

5 Comments

Filed under amNY Watch

5 responses to “amNY Watch: Remedial Crossword

  1. meaghan

    wait, wait…
    The only thing I’ve ever heard of is CHICKEN con carne, which is more than 5 letters. Is there steak con carne? Should I know this, especially since i live in a heavily hispanic area of Los Angeles?

  2. Meaghan: Seriously? You’ve never heard of CHILI con carne? Chicken con carne doesn’t even make any sense. “Carne” is Spanish for “meat.”

  3. meaghan

    I don’t speak spanish! I live in America! Additionally, I hate chili. And Chile.

    Chicken with meat sounds delicious, by the way.

    I’m going to go drown my sorrows in some apple pie.

  4. thom

    Yes, meaghan, chicken with meat does sound good.
    Would you like some pasta with macaroni to go with that?

Leave a Reply

